Skip to content

A Whole New Life

August 10, 2010

We have officially lived in California for 3 weeks and 3 days.  I can’t imagine a place feeling any more like home.  I struggled for the six years that I lived in Boston to ever feel as though I belonged there.  The closest reason I can come up with is that I never felt that I truly connected with the people.  Although we had some of the best friends of my life in Boston, very few of them were actually from the area–most were transplants who didn’t have intentions of staying forever either.  So, I suppose I always felt like Boston was a transitional place for me.

That being said, I crave community and place.  I wanted to live in a place that felt as much like home to me as Michigan.  While I’m not sure that’s ever going to be fully possible, if a place ever could meet that threshold, I do believe it would be Sonoma County.  There is something about this place:  the people, the vibe, the air, that just feels like coming home.

The past few years have been hard–harder than I really want to sit down and think about.  The hardest I hope I ever have in my life.  And now, with this move, this giant, huge leap we’re taking, I finally feel like the good stuff is catching up with us.  Two new jobs, our very first home, tons of new things to explore and new friends to get to know.  Even a new car.  Everything just feels like it is falling into place.  Like it has all been meant to be.  Like all the crap in life over the last few years, has led us to this new, lovely, wonderful new life.  I am the happiest I have been in as long as I can remember.  I feel like I am taking one, long exhale….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

