Skip to content

30

January 3, 2011

Hot mama and her sassy girl.

 

This year, I’m turning 30.

The first memory I have of someone being 30 was when my Mom turned 30.

I was 5.

I remember us sitting in our car, on our way somewhere and Mom telling me that some folks from church were going to be throwing her a birthday party.  A 30th birthday party.

I.  Freaked.  Out.

 

Why?

I was convinced that she was going to die any second.

She was 30 after all and 30 was ancient.  Crypt-keeper.

No matter that she was a gorgeous, vivacious woman.  That thought never crossed my mind.

It also never crossed my mind that I knew plenty of people much older than 30 and they weren’t dying or dead.

Nope, my singular focus was that my mom turning 30 meant one thing:

I was about to be an orphan.


And now, 25 years (and a more concrete understanding of the life expectancy) later, I am turning 30.

All I have to say is thank God I don’t have some 5 year old screaming and wailing about how old I am.

 

My poor mother.

Even more gorgeous now than she was at 30.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura Thuma permalink
    January 4, 2011 8:05 am

    You also used to sit on my lap and sob saying you never wanted to go to college ‘cuz you never wanted to leave me. Ha! Look what you did….you left me. First to the east coast and now to the west coast. Meany.

Leave a Reply

