Skip to content

Recommend me some books, y’all!

January 4, 2011

Short post tonight to ask you all a favor.

I say you all, because contrary to popular opinion, my mother is NOT the only one reading this blog.  There are at least 76 of you out there.  Or maybe 5 that just keeping reading it over and over and over.

I digress.

One of my New Years Resolutions is, of course, to watch less tv and read more books.

The fact that I spent two hours watching The Bachelor (did you SEE that girl with the FANGS?!) last night should tell you how well that’s going.

I digress.

I need some good book recommendations.  I’m sick of walking aimlessly into book stores and buying whatever is on the NYT Best Seller list.  I am on perma-strike from the NYT Book Review (and if you used to read one of my old blogs, you know why).  And I don’t trust the Amazon reviewers.

So that leaves you.  My loyal followers.  My people.

Help me.

I like it all so don’t be shy–non-fiction, fiction, sci-fi (ok, maybe not), biographies, true crime, historical fiction (wait, I guess that counts as fiction)….

I have one recommendation for you.  You know, because this relationship is a two-way street.  I’m currently reading The Wave by Susan Casey and it’s fabulous.

Here’s a little preview…

Source

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 7:34 pm

    Well one book that I have been recommending to everyone is called Three Minutes More by Edward O’Dell. It is a non-fiction book from the POV of the authors brother who was killed when he was 12. I found out about the book because the family was from a town about 22 miles away. It is a good read. However as an Amazon review put it, If you are depressed do not read this book. However if you think you can then please do.

    Also I am currently reading Decision Points by George W. Bush. And I must admit that 4 chapters into I am hooked.

  2. lustrata permalink
    January 4, 2011 7:49 pm

    I read Half-Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls and was really struck by her ability to create a character out of the memory of her grandmother that was so fully-fleshed and voiced and admirable. I really enjoyed that.

    • January 5, 2011 7:48 pm

      Excellent recommendation–I have often thought about reading her first, but saw a documentary on her life and have never quite been in the right mood to read it. I’ll add this one to my list. Thanks!

  3. January 4, 2011 8:39 pm

    Well, I’ve never read your blog before, so I’m not one of the 76, or the 5, or whatever. Found you through postaday2011 tag. I recommend “Peace Like a River” by Leif Enger. His second book, “So Young, Brave, and Handsome” was also pretty good. If you want something that will make you think, try “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis. Good luck with the “more reading, less TV” thing. I could stand to do that myself. Peace, Linda

  4. AMVW permalink
    January 5, 2011 7:39 am

    I admit, I’m one of the 76 (and read your previous blogs, too) because a. I’m curious b. I am convinced that no matter how hard we try and how much we argue our circle of friendship will probably never actually really die and c. as you know the life of an associate is not as thrilling as we all dreamed it would be and you need to read stuff in between documents to keep it interesting. That all being said, I would recommend reading this blog: http://busybethb.wordpress.com/, written by my friend Beth who is an attorney trying to find balance, runner (she just qualified for Boston!), cycler, yogi, mini chef, and a great writer. I did just read the new Grisham book because I read them all before giving them to my Dad for his bday or Christmas. It was a pretty decent read about death row.

    • January 5, 2011 10:12 am

      Oh it tickles me that you keep up with my blogging and I agree, I think we have one of those relationships that withstands distance, fighting, etc. for whatever reason. Thanks for the recommendations; I’m a bit of a blog fanatic so I’ll add your friend to my Google Reader stat. I hope you and Rob are doing great!

  5. Sara permalink
    January 5, 2011 4:58 pm

    Hey there!! If you’re looking for light, fluffy, quick, and heart warming, read “Let’s Take the Long Way Home.” It’s a memoir of a friendship between two women. It goes fast and I have really enjoyed it. Tears. (In sorta good ways, not in a “holy cow, make this book stop now” sort of way. Heeehee.)

  6. Harmony permalink
    January 6, 2011 7:37 am

    Hi friend! Glad you’re blogging with more frequency because I’m still a faithful reader. 🙂

    I just walked out to my bookshelf and will now recommend the first few that jumped out at me.

    She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb. One of my all time favorites. It’s yellowed with age and the well-worn spine shows how much I love this book. I’ve read it countless times since high school and it gets me every time.

    Crashing Through by Robert Kurson. Nonfiction account of Mike May, an extraordinary man who regained his sight after being blind for 43 years. Truly compelling story about the beauty of life and strength of the human spirit. Great for evaluating your own perspective and approach.

    Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. I don’t actually think I would have felt compelled to buy this book but it was given to me for free while I was traveling for work and I ended up sucked into it before my plane home even took off . It’s just a good original story.

    The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. I haven’t finished this one yet but I love the idea of it and the voice of the author is great. The tagline does a lovely job summarizing…”The Happiness Project: Or, Why I spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun.”

    Let us know what you end up reading and loving!

  7. Mary H. permalink
    January 14, 2011 6:23 pm

    Hey Liss,

    Here’s a few I enjoyed:

    The Big One
    I Saw You
    War Horse
    The Help
    The Perks of Being a Wallflower
    Water for Elephants
    Tales of a Female Nomad Living at Large in the World
    Never Let Me Go
    Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
    The Lost Girls
    The Spice Necklace

    The first four are books DreamWorks is making into movies. Might be fun to read them and then see the movies when they come out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

