Skip to content

“Men’s Interest”

January 7, 2011

I walked into a bookstore this afternoon at lunchtime to pick up a magazine that I have heard tons of good reports about but have never read:

I’m not a tech person, other than being just the right amount of addicted to all of my Apple products.  I’m not a science person, other than having an unexplainable fascination with outer space (my brother and I once had an hours-long conversation about how scary it would be to die in outer space and what we thought would kill us first).  And the good lord knows math isn’t my strong suit.

But I have it on good authority that Wired is one of those science-y-tech-y-math-y magazines that’s actually enjoyable to read even if you are not a science-y-tech-y-math-y person.

So, anyway, I was excited to buy it and start reading it while I noshed on a burrito at one of my fave tacquerias in downtown SR.

I looked and looked and looked at the magazine racks, but couldn’t find WIRED.  I wondered if maybe it was just a little too “specialty” and maybe they really only carry super mainstream stuff.  Then I saw an entire section on tattoo magazines and re-thought that thought.

Then I saw it.  The magazine. In the Men’s Interest section.  Now, I’d really, really like to hope that this was just an oversight by whatever bookstore employee was stocking magazines this month.  But, I doubt it.  Then I saw wedding magazines in the Women’s Interest section.

I took one good hard look, started to contemplate what I had just seen and then quickly grabbed what I came for and got the heck out of there.

Before my brain exploded.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 10:55 pm

    WIRED tends to be about gadgets and electronics as a hobby. It is true that some women are interested in gadgets and electronics as a hobby, just as it is true that some men are interested in bridal magazines.

    Also, the men who are interested in bridal magazines are the same men who are interested in Apple products.

  2. Katarina permalink
    January 12, 2011 9:24 pm

    Smart comment, Kevin! Puts you right on the map. I wish there would have been a smiley somewhere in your text so we could have interpreted it as irony.

    I am happy Sweden is less backwards.

Leave a Reply

