Skip to content

House Vinaigrette

January 10, 2011

I am a huge salad lover.  I could eat it with or as virtually every meal.  I am also a huge salad dressing lover.  I go through phases of dressing–sometimes I’m in the mood for something creamy like blue cheese, sometimes for a lighter vinaigrette.

About a year ago when I was doing Weight Watchers, I discovered that making my own dressing really cut down on the calories from olive oil.  By adjusting the proportions, I was able to make a dressing that wasn’t breaking the “points” bank.  I also began to realize that I could make a better tasting dressing using fresh ingredients and a little creativity than any of the bottled dressing out there.

(what exactly is xanthum gum and what is it doing in my salad dressing?)

Once I stopped Weight Watchers, I continued to experiment with making my own dressing and have finally settled upon

Rion House Vinaigrette.

Here’s what you’ll need:

First, combine the olive oil and balsamic vinegar in a cruet.  If you don’t have a cruet, you can combine everything in a glass bowl and whisk really well at the end, but that’s kind of a pain in rear.

Next, add the mustard.  I use Guldens because they’re “#2 and that ain’t bad” (name that movie!)

And then, some freshly minced garlic.  ps:  There is no better garlic press than a ratcheting garlic press.  Buy one.  STAT.

Next come the herbs.  I use oregano and thyme, but honestly, you can use whatever you want.

 

 

 

 

 

 

After a few shakes of black pepper and a pinch of kosher salt, give the cruet a healthy shake and voila!

Then, make yourself a nice salad and devour!

Happy salad eating!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

