Skip to content

I’m Just Going To Breathe

January 27, 2011

There are moments in life when you have a choice. Do I let this take me over? Do I let this upset me, worry me, freak me out, send me into panicked rage, or so I just breathe? I want to panic. I want to freak out. I want to let all of those insane thoughts flood my head. But I know that right now I can make the choice to not let it happen.

I can make the choice to just sit.

Just sit and breathe.

In and out.

Just be still.

And breathe.

I have realized what worry does for me. It makes me feel as though I have some control over the thing that I’m worrying about. Because if I worry about something that may or may not be, at least, if it does happen to happen, I won’t be blindsided by it.

I won’t have that “mack truck” moment.

You know, the one where you are left scattered and helpless, thinking “what the hell just happened?! I didn’t see that coming!”

I’ll be able to say “HAH! See, I KNEW that was going to happen! I spent a ton of time thinking about it, fixating on it and obsessing about it.”

So I know this is why I worry. But I also know that even if I don’t have that mack truck moment, I will have wasted countless hours, days, weeks, months, years anticipating something that may never come to be. So, enough of that.

I am in one of those moments right now, and I’m just going to breathe.

And if the mack truck moment comes, well, I’ll deal with it then.

Right now, I’m just going to breathe.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura Thuma permalink
    January 28, 2011 4:38 am

    That’s good, Lissy. Just breathe. It would be a terrible thing to waste and ruin the present over something that may not happen in the future. Remember….only positive energy out into the universe.
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

