Skip to content

Retail Therapy–Maternity Edition

April 3, 2011

Since I waved goodbye to my husband today who set off on a week-long college tour with his students (God, give him strength), it was a perfect opportunity to get together with my darling, wonderful friend Jill for a little shop-till-you drop at the chi-chi Corte Madera outdoor mall.  LOVE that mall.  And, it happens to have the only Gap Maternity in the area.

Since I have effectively outgrown (almost) all of my pants, I decided it was finally time to bite the bullet and sojourn to a place I have never been before:  a maternity clothes store.  I was equal parts excited and worried.

But, here’s the thing:  maternity clothes are CUTE.  And I’m not just saying that because they are my only real option for the next 6 months.  They really are adorable.  Flowy, feminine, even downright sexy sometimes.  Jill was a PERFECT shopping partner, picking out tons of cute stuff (and being my sale rack savior).  Love her.

Is she adorable or pregnant? How about both!

The only catch of course was…maternity clothes make you look…pregnant.  There’s no way around it.  In order to accommodate your growing mid-section, there just has to be more room there and the tops have to be cut in a way that make you look like you have a small person in there.  Cuz, uh, you do!  So I kept looking at myself in these tops and thinking, “I can’t buy this, I look pregnant!” and then immediately realizing “Uh, duh, that’s because you ARE.”

So I got over it, bought a bunch of really cute stuff and I’m actually excited to start wearing them.  There’s all this advice out there to hold off for as long as possible and wear your own clothes, but honestly, I feel so much more comfortable in the clothes I bought today than in my own “normal” clothes right now.  Normal clothes aren’t cut in the same way, don’t give you enough room where you need it and aren’t forgiving.  Maternity clothes are all of these things.  So I’m excited.

I bought this too!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    April 4, 2011 5:59 pm

    yay, Melissa, I’m so glad you’re back to blogging, and I’m looking forward to following your pregnancy journey. I’m not a big fan of shopping but a little dose of it now and then can be such a good thing — and it’s soooo good to have comfy clothes to wear! I can’t wait to see your photo in these tops! Wishing you well —

Leave a Reply

