Skip to content

Getting back

April 9, 2011

 

My life is a study in contradictions lately.

Restless but exhausted.

Happy but worried.

Famished but picky.

The thing most contradictory, however, is how I feel in my body. It is doing things, behaving in ways, that it never, in 30 years, has ever done or behaved. I don’t recognize the way it feels or looks or moves.

Yet, I am also in my body more than I ever have been. I notice everything, I see everything.  I don’t know this body, but I know it, if you know what I mean….

Yoga has always been a safe body place for me. I love my yoga body–I love the way it moves, the way it knows what to do, the way it tells me when I’m doing too much and not feeling enough. The way it tells me when I am not at my edge and nudges me there.

I have missed my yoga body since I have been pregnant, because, to put it bluntly, even the thought of downward dog made me want to vomit, until recently.

Now, after three months away, I’m ready to get back to my yoga body and introduce it to my pregnant body.

I think they will get along marvelously….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

