Skip to content

Home Is Where Your Mom Is

May 19, 2011

I think this is officially the longest span I have ever gone without being in Michigan–last time I was there was in July.  I find myself yearning like crazy for it lately.

I miss the comforts of my first home; the sounds; the smells; the familiarity.  The feeling of utter and complete belonging.

But most of all, I miss that fabulous perk of being someone’s child:  being taken care of.

When I’m home, my Mom cooks for me, picks up after me, (nags me to pick up after myself), makes all the plans and arrangements, wakes me up to have coffee with her on the front porch, and buys me whatever I want at the grocery store.  She often has the fridge stocked with the only cottage cheese on planet earth that I like and my favorite beer (pre-baby that is).

There is nothing quite like being taken care of like that.  Sure, my husband is fabulous and makes dinner for me when I’m too tired, does a lot of yard work that I don’t want to do, and always asks me if there’s anything he can do for me.  He really is the best.

But still, there is nothing like the way a Mom takes care of you.

Moms make everything better

It’s hard to believe that in 20 weeks, I will be that person, that Mom to someone.  Years from now, my son or daughter will hopefully be yearning to come home for a dose of pampering and care that only Mom can provide.

There's a baby in there!


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    May 19, 2011 8:17 pm

    really sweet post, Melissa. lovely to read & have a sense of your thoughts, these days. Maybe it’s time to introduce Baby to those beans you cooked up for us at Christmas! Those were delicious.

    love–

    • May 19, 2011 8:22 pm

      Awwww thanks, Heather! And you are right, Apple Bean Bake really is the cats meow! 🙂 Speaking of Moms, that’s one of the dishes my Mom is famous for in my family. Can’t wait to see you in July!

  2. Stephanie permalink
    May 20, 2011 2:51 am

    You look adorable! I love this post 🙂

  3. Laura Thuma permalink
    May 24, 2011 5:35 am

    Awwwww. That was such a nice post. It is always a pleasure to be your mom and pamper you! Please come home so I can.
    xxoxooxoxo

Leave a Reply

